Membra Jesu Nostri


Wednesday 10th April 2019, 19.15

Boxgrove Priory, Boxgrove, PO18 0ED

NMH and three parts vied combine for the final concert of the series - Buxtehude’s cycle of seven cantatas written in adoration of the crucified Jesus. Each work focusses on a different part of his wounded body: the feet, the knees, the hands, the sides, the breast, the heart and the face - using poetry to reflect on what the Passion means for us. The music travels through a full spectrum of emotion, including mourning and grief, anger, and violence, but above all love and hope. It will be an extremely moving final reflection.

NMH and three parts vied

Helena Thomson, Helena Moore, 

Fleur Smith, Natasha Page, soprano

Edward Edgcumbe, William Waine, alto 

Thomas Perkins, Edward Woodhouse, tenor

Michael Hickman, Piers Kennedy, bass

Chris Jones, violin I

 Rebecca Windram, violin II

Chris Terepin, viola da gamba

Andrew Hayman, chamber organ/director

Membra Jesu Nostri BuxWV 75